TdF Days 3-6

Standard

Well I’ve been busy. I started combing out my Bond fleece that I washed a couple of weeks ago. Tonite I finished what I had washed up, and my arms are tired! The problem now is that it’s too hot to wash more of the fleece.

On the nite of day 3, I finished spinning up both halves of my roving and started plying. I think by 1am the next day I finished plying. The next morning, I got it all wound up and the twist set. I decided that at one of my weekly knitting groups, I better get started on my combing. I had met with a friend the week before to get her expertise on whether or not I should brush or comb. I got more use of my fiber with less “pills” in the combed fiber.

Like I mentioned before, I finished combing up the washed fiber that I had, but I also used my drop spindle to make a swatch for my project. I think Reilly liked the drop spindle. This was the first time he’s seen me using it.

The project calls for a sport weight yarn, but I’m more used to spinning close to either fingering, DK, or worsted. Plus I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do a 2 or 3-ply. I like the look of a 3-ply, but wasn’t sure how the fibers would lay. I did a 2 ply, and after setting the twist it fluffed up quite a bitThe picture below shows my first time knitting with my own handspun yarn. Pretty cool, huh? I have to admit, my gauge was right on! I can’t wait to get to spinning it all up and starting the project, but I just wish my arms weren’t so sore.

My other knitting group meets tomorrow and I’m still trying to decide what I want to bring to work on. I still have xmas knitting projects to finish. I guess I’ll decide tomorrow morning. I think I’ll head to bed early tonite. I’ve been going to bed about 1am or later for the past couple of nites. My 2 week break is coming to an end this weekend. 😦

 

Leave a Reply

